The gluten free lifestyle is starting to become more and more common, with “fad” diets and the growing number of people with gluten allergies and sensitivities. Whether you have Celiacs or just prefer avoiding gluten, there are plenty of options to munch on when you want a sweet snack.
Gluten is contained in any food item that uses wheat, barley, or rye, and is in a surprising number of foods that you’d never think of. Here’s a list of some old favorites that are certified gluten free!
2) Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups – Some cup candies use a gluten product to make their gooey fillings stiffer, but not Reese’s. Their peanut butter cups and Reese’s Pieces are clean! Just avoid the holiday shapes and mini cups, they are not celiac friendly and contain a hidden gluten binder to keep those special molds.
3) Sour Patch Kids – Never fear! You can enjoy this sour sweet candy if you’re avoiding the “g” word. Try this EXTREME version from our store!
4) Heath Bars – These old english toffee bars are coated in delicious milk chocolate and are surprisingly free of gluten. Crunch up a bar into some GF vanilla ice cream for a creamy and crunchy snack!
5) Snickers – Snickers have a little bit of everything in them…but not gluten! These satisfying candy bars are a must have for your celiac friendly candy cabinet.
For a comprehensive list of gluten free candy, visit Gluten Away’s blog about GF candies. His site is also a great resource for those looking to learn about the gluten free lifestyle.
Check back soon for some more great candy blogs and be sure to write us in the comments for a chance to have your blog idea featured on Old Time Candy!